Our Lawyer Credentials
- Member, National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML), National Trial Lawyers Top 100, National Trial Lawyers Top 40 Under 40, South Carolina Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- (2) Former South Carolina Prosecutors
- Former Registered Nurse (RN)
- Licensed to handle cases in both South Carolina and North Carolina
- Offices located in Fort Mill, Rock Hill, Charleston, and Charlotte
- For cases outside of York County, we may associate local lawyers to assist.
We fight all marijuana charges anywhere
in south carolina
Simple Possession and paraphernalia
A first time arrest for simple possession of 1 ounce or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 days in jail and a fine of $100-$200. However, you may qualify for a pre-trial conditional release program. If completed, your charges will be dismissed.
Subsequent arrests for simple possession of 1 ounce or less is still a misdemeanor, but the punishment is increased to a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000.
- S.C. Code Ann. § 44-53-110 (2015)
- S.C. Code Ann. § 44-53-190(d), 44-53-370(a) (2015)
- S.C. Code Ann. § 44-53-370 (2015)
While it is illegal to manufacture or sell drug paraphernalia, it is now just a “civil citation” punishable by a maximum fine of $500.
distribution or trafficking
Less than 10 pounds:
If arrested with up to 10 pounds of marijuana, you face maximum time in prison of up to 5 years and maximum fine of $5,000.
10 pounds to 100 pounds:
If caught with between 10 pounds and 100 pounds of marijuana, first offense, you face mandatory prison time of 1 year up to 10 years and fines up to $10,000. For a second offense, 5 to 20 years and a maximum fine of $25,000. For a third offense, a mandatory prison sentence of 25 years and a fine of $25,000.
Sale to minors:
If convicted of selling marijuana to a minor, or within a one-half mile radius of a school, public park, or playground, you face a maximum sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of $10,000.
Manufacture or cultivation
Growing, manufacturing, of cultivating marijuana is also very serious and is a felony. And SC does not recognize personal use as a defense. Colorado may be the place you want to be.
Less than 100 plants:
If growing fewer than 100 plants, you face a maximum sentence of up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
100 to 1,000 plants:
If arrested with between 100 and 1,000 plants, you face mandatory minimum prison time of 25 years and a fine of $25,000.
1,000 to 10,000 plants:
If caught with between 1,000 and 10,000 plants, you are facing a mandatory minimum prison sentence of 25 years and a maximum fine of $50,000.
More than 10,000 plants:
If growing more than 10,000 plants, you face mandatory prison time of 25 years and a maximum fine of $200,000.
ROBERT j. REEVESRobert Reeves is a seasoned trial lawyer with over 28 years of experience in both criminal and civil courts. Working as a team, our firm stands ready to go the distance.
Zachary e. FryZac Fry is a former South Carolina prosecutor who now aggressively fights for those individuals who are accused of a crime.
Thomas W. Holland, Sr.
Tom Holland is a 24 year veteran trial lawyer and a former South Carolina prosecutor. In addition, he was General Counsel for the Lancaster County Sheriff’s Office.